Book Online
Check in:
Check out:
Book
 

Reviews

Read guest reviews about our hotel or write your review here.


"Quiet and beautiful place"

A small and friendly pension with modern and clean rooms, each with a great view of the bay from the balcony. We were happy to stay with our children, enjoy the place, the village Kaliviani (superb taverna within a 2 min walk) and the superb beach Balos (just a 15 min drive away). The best of Greek hospitality!
Family review - November 2014


"Family from Finland"

The location was perfect for our trip, our family (parents and kids 7&9 years) wanted to explore western Crete by car avoiding beaches full of people and big hotels. Kaliviani village was charming and we saw local people living there peacefully. Sheep and goats, cats and dogs, ducks and chicken we saw and heard every day. Falasarna beach was our favourite and it took about 15 min to drive there. Elafonisi was further but reachable (1,5 hours driving). We also made a nice day trip to beautiful Chania. Kissamos we liked too. Breakfast was super with e.g. bread, fresh orange juice, coffee, special greek yogurth with honey. The simple but cozy room was kept very clean daily. The hotel restaurant was closed this time of year, but there was one minute walk to nice restaurants where we could taste delicious traditional food. Thank you for making our holiday better! Our kids learned a couple of words greek language and they are planning to teach their friends too.
Family review - October 2014


"Rilassante"
Hotel a conduzione familiare e situato nel villaggio di Kaliviani, a qualche chilometro da Kissamos, tra gli uliveti e lontano dal caos del turismo di massa.
La posizione e' ottima per raggiungere alcune tra le piu' belle spiagge di Creta come Balos (inizio della strada sterrata a 5 minuti dall'hotel, poi circa 40 min tra auto e sentiero), Elafonisi (circa 1h in auto) e Falasarna (circa 30 min in auto).
Solo 5 camere, arredate con gusto e molto spaziose, ognuna dotata aria condizionata, wi-fi (discreto) e di balcone da cui e' possibile ammirare gli uliveti circostanti ed il mare all'orizzonte.
Ottima la pulizia giornaliera della camera e del bagno. Cambio degli asciugamani ogni 2 giorni.
Ad ogni camera corrisponde un posto auto riservato vicino all'ingresso dell'hotel.
Molto buona la colazione, servita con cortesia e preparata con ingredienti freschi e genuini (segnalo in particolare lo yogurt con frutta fresca e miele e la spremuta d'arancia fatta al momento).
Tranquillita' assoluta. Se dormite con le finestre aperte, al mattino verrete svegliati solo dal gallo del vicino.
Il giovane Proprietario e' una persona gentile e disponibile, con cui e' piacevole intrattenersi per fare due chiacchiere e che sara' felice di darvi suggerimenti per visitare i luoghi di interesse nelle vicinanze.
Consigliato.
Couple review - October 2014


"Unglaublich schön"

Top Lage, schönes Restaurant und gemütliche Bar, 5 Zimmer mit super Aussicht da es ein bisschen höher gelegen ist. Das Frühstück war auch super. Ideal für 1 Nacht als Zwischenstopp. Unbedingt im eigenen Restaurant Mamas Dinner essen.
Couple review - September 2014

"Tranquillo relax"
Posizione ottima per la visita della laguna di Balos (la strada sterrata parte a pochi passi dell'hotel), la fantastica spiaggia di Falassarna (a 10 minuti d'auto) e per la leggendaria Elafonissi (circa un'ora di strada panoramica). La struttura è semplice e molto carina: parcheggio riservato; una grande terrazza con tavolini, sedie e panche; poche stanze tutte al primo piano dotate di a/c, bagno privato con doccia molto ampia e con un bel balconcino vista mare attrezzato con tavolo, sedie e stendi biancheria. La colazione è servita al tavolo in un'ampia sala a piano terra: semplice e non inutilmente elaborata, segnalo in particolare come molto buono lo yogurt greco con il miele e la frutta fresca. Una nota particolare va al giovane proprietario che, oltre a fornirci utili informazioni sui luoghi da visitare e sui ristoranti della zona, è stato sempre disponibile a fare due chiacchiere serali. Ci è davvero dispiaciuto andare via.
Couple review - July 2014


"A very good experience"
We have been at Kaliviani Traditional Hotel nine days. The world is very big and for us to return in a place where we staid already is very difficult, but we are sure that will go back here in the future. If you want tranquility, kindness and beauty you have tried the right place! Above of the sea level, from the Kaliviani Traditional Hotel you can overlook Kissamos gulf and the near country full olive trees in a magnificent view. Near the hotel you can visit Balos, extraordinary beach, Elafonisi and Falaserna beaches. John the young owner is very available and resolves your possible problems; Irina the waitress is very nice and delicate ... you can't allow to not taste her yogurt ! Italian couple.
Couple review - June 2014


"Grazioso, ospitale, posizione strategica"

Da consigliare sia per la sua posizione vicina alle spiagge spettacolari di Balos , Falasarna e la bellissima Elafonissi, sia per la qualità dell'accoglienza, la pulizia, la gentilezza del gestore Iani e della sua graziosa famigliola.
Bella musica e cura dei particolari. Gustosa prima colazione. Wifi utilissimo. Ottimo per una vacanza riposante e romantica, da consigliare.
Couple review - June 2014


"La tua casa a Creta"
Pulito, accogliente e vicino alle più belle spiagge dell'isola: Falassarna (10 minuti), Balos (9km), Elafonissi (30km circa). Ma ciò che rende unica questa piccola e curata guesthouse è l'atmosfera semplice e autentica che respirerai grazie alla squisita cordialità di Iani e della sua famiglia. Faranno di tutto per assicurarti il miglior soggiorno possibile, senza mai essere invadenti. A fine giornata, siediti sulla terrazza con Iani a fare due parole: oltre ad essere una persona molto gradevole, saprà darti consigli preziosi per rendere ancora più bella la tua vacanza. Al mattino, invece, scometto che ti scatterà l'applauso quando assaggerai la coppa di yogurt greco con cuore di miele che chiude la sana e deliziosa colazione. Noi abbiamo passato qui i primi 4 giorni della nostra vacanza a Creta, poi - come da programma - siamo stati 3 giorni in un hotel di lusso di Chania: avevo nostalgia, giuro. Nonostante le stelle e il servizio ottimo, mancava quel qualcosa di speciale che al Kaliviani c'è e che non ti so descrivere più di così. Di sicuro, quando torneremo a Creta, il Kaliviani Traditional Hotel sarà la nostra casa per tutta la durata della vacanza.
Couple review - May 2014


“A ne pas manquer!!!”
Hôtel à taille humaine (5 chambres) tenu par un jeune couple (et leur bébé Alexandros!!!) très sympathique toujours prompt à donner de bons conseils. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié leur gentillesse et leur hôtel qui est ravissant. Emplacement de rêve et cadre enchanteur. Magnifique terrasse très fleurie. Tout est bien entretenu. Bouteilles d'eau offertes, produits de toilette en quantité suffisante, ce qui semble rare en Crète ( très souvent nous n'avions qu'un petit savon!!!) Aucun reproche à formuler!
Excellent petit déjeuner avec une jolie présentation des plats.
Tout est pensé pour rendre le séjour agréable.
Nous aurions aimé y rester plus longtemps! Nous y reviendrons si l'occasion se présente!
Group of friends review - May 2014


“alla mano e raffinato”

Hotel a 4km dal centro di Kissamos, accogliente, bello, pulito, stanze grandi e caratteristiche e personale gentilissimo. wi-fi eccellente
A due passi da Falasarna e dalla splendida laguna di Balos.
Consiglio vivamente, anche per la colazione, dolce e salata ma lo yogurt greco con il miele.
Group of friends review - May 2014


“Fünf Wochen voller Zufriedenheit”
Eigentlich wollten wir hier nur eine Woche bleiben; daraus wurden dann fünf Wochen, denn hier stimmte alles: die Zimmer sind sauber und geschmackvoll eingerichtet, die Lage des Hotels ist ideal für Erkundungstouren in den Westen von Kreta, das Frühstück ist ausgesprochen gut und umfangreich, der Service sehr angenehm und aufmerksam. Wir haben uns bei Familie Diktaki sehr wohlgefühlt und können das Hotel Kaliviani allen empfehlen, die eine angenehme Atmosphäre in einem kleinen Hotel suchen.
Couple review - May 2014


“Parfait”

Un endroit magique avec des gens sympa, tout est soigné dans les moindres détails et c'est un vrai plaisir de se réveiller en entendant les animaux. Le petit déjeuner est énorme et excellent ce qui met en forme pour Balos! Un des meilleurs rapports qualité prix que j'ai pu voir en voyageant : une belle chambre avec un lit confortable et une vraie salle de bain, une belle vue le tout pour le prix d'un hôtel minable dans les villes de Crête.
Group of friends review - May 2014


“Sehr empfehlenswert, wir kommen wieder!”
Äußerst angenehme Atmosphäre, familiärer Rahmen, sehr aufmerksamer Hausherr und Gastgeber. Ein sehr schönes kleines Hotel und Reiseziel zum Relaxen, aber auch zum Wandern in der Natur.Die Gastronomie im Ort fanden wir ausgezeichnet!
Couple review - May 2014


“Ottima guesthouse”
Abbiamo soggiornato per quattro notti in questa bella guesthouse nel piacevole e rilassato villaggio di Kaliviani che è un'ottimo punto base per esplorare Balos, e per recarsi in altre spiagge quali Falassarna e Elafonissi, nonché se si desidera visitare Chania in giornata.
Le camere sono ben curate e ogni giorno vengono pulite e, abbiamo apprezzato la gentilezza di Yannis, e la colazione sempre fresca e servita con calma per poter iniziare benissimo la giornata.
Consigliatissimo!!!
Couple review - May 2014


“Meglio di così!”
Siamo stati 2 notti in questo hotel, molto grazioso, camera bella e pulita, colazione eccezionale. Spazio giochi per bambini e splendida vista sul mare. Cucina semplice ma di ottima qualità. Grande professionalità da parte del gestore sempre molto attento alle necessità dei clienti. Perfetto come appoggio per escursioni nella zona di Balos.
Couple review - April 2014

“Ottimo hotel”
Siamo stati solo pochi giorni in questo hotel molto carino in posizione un po' isolata e molto silenziosa. La colazione servita della proprietaria è varia e molto buona (una delle migliori), ci siamo sentiti come a casa. In fondo alla strada c'è un ottimo ristorante molto caratteristico dove si mangia veramente bene.
Couple review - February 2014


“Superb”
The hotel is very very nice, with neat, stylish and tasteful rooms with beautiful view on the sea and the owner is very, very friendly. You have definitely a feeling you want to come back there next time.
Couple review - February 2014


“Liebevoll geführte Familienunterkunft”
Perfekte Unterkunft mit ganz viel Liebe zum Detail und einer sehr netten Gastgeberin, die mit ihren selbst gemalten Bildern den Zimmern eine persönliche Note gibt. Vom Balkon aus hatten wir einen herrlichen Ausblick auf das Meer mit dem Golf von Kissamos. Unser Zimmer war sehr sauber und ansprechend eingerichtet. Wir verbrachten eine Nacht im Kaliviani, da wir es von dort nicht weit zu den traumhaften Stränden von Balos und Falassarna hatten. Ein liebevolles Frühstück auf der sonnigen Terrasse sowie die Ruhe in dem kleinen und sehr schönen Ort rundeten unseren Aufenthalt ab. Die Rezeption ähnelt einer Galerie, mit ausgestellten Fotografien der Besitzerin Efti. Wer einen entspannten Aufenthalt in einer kleinen, liebevoll ausgestatteten Unterkunft in Familienbesitz sucht ist im Kaliviani genau richtig!
Mature couple - October 2013


“Lovely rural setting, Excellent value for money”
Clean, functional and tidy rooms with lovely views across the village to the sea. Lovely village location. Nice and quiet at night and an absolute pleasure to walk up and see the local farmer herding his goats in front of the hotel as we headed down to breakfast. The breakfast was superb - fresh, homemade breads and yogurts and a selection of cheese, honey, jams, fruit and eggs.
Couple review - September 2013


“nice spot, friendly owners”
we stayed here for a week on our holiday in Crete. Our room was lovely, adequat for 2 people. wifi was free of charge and fast. The view and weather were beautifulso was the breakfast served by Effi. We definately do recommend this lovely place.
Young couple - August 2013


Ottima accoglienza e disponibilità della proprietaria sig.ra Efi, colazione tradizionale genuina, posizione strategica per chi desidera muoversi tra le spiagge più belle della costa nord-occidentale di Creta e per la vicinanza a Kissamos e Chania comode per i servizi, camere molto carine curate in stile cretese tradizionale, vista panoramica sul mare, possibilità di after-dinner con ottima selezione musicale nel cafè sottostante.
Young couple - July 2013


Simpaticissima la padrona Elfi, fantastica la prima colazione, strategico il ristorante sotto gli ulivi a 5min a piedi. Fantastica la spiaggia di balos, anche se un pó impegnativa da raggiungere. Ci torneremo sicuramente.
Mature couple - June 2013


“Nice experience”
Small friendly hotel, with personal service and very clean rooms with attention for details. Abundant breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Nice view from the balcony. Very good price/quality ratio. Some good restaurants nearby.
Couple review - May 2013


“Consigliatissimo!!”
Siamo stati due notti .Pulizia ineccepibile, camera grande e confortevole e la proprietaria Efi è molto gentile e disponibile. Bagno nuovissimo con grande doccia. WIFI gratuito e colazione abbondante. Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo.
Couple review - April 2013


"Génial !”
Superbe emplacement loin des touristes, je crois qu'il n'y a que 8 chambres, c'est hôtel ressemble plus à une chambre d’hôte qu'un hôtel. Efli la maîtresse de maison est aux petits soins, elle prépare un déjeuner délicieux, donne des bons conseils et elle est vraiment très sympathique. La chambre est simple mais propre avec une vue sur la mer et les maisons traditionnelles. Nous avons fait le tour de la crête et je pense que c'est un bon emplacement pour visiter toute la côte Ouest, notamment pour ses plages de sable blanc et la baie de Balos, et surtout loin de la concentration touristique ! Je recommande sans hésitation !
Couple review - Feb 2013
 


"L’ospitalità di Creta…a Kaliviani!”

Abbiamo soggiornato in questa bella struttura per 5 giorni a ottobre. Camera pulita, spaziosa e accogliente, si sentiva solo un leggero ronzio del motore del frigofero.Efi, la gentilissima proprietaria, vi darà indicazione sui posti da visitare, nonché le previsioni del tempo (ma non sempre le azzecca :-)). Inoltre vi preparerà una colazione perfetta per iniziare nel migliore dei modi la giornata. La vista dal balconcino è incantevole, e buona la posizione per visitare la parte ovest di Creta, ma l’auto è ovviamente necessaria. Wi-fi con ricezione non ottima in camera, ma c’è un pc a disposizione e poi, se sei in vacanza in fondo…who cares?!?.
Couple review - Oct 2012



"Meraviglioso!!!”
Struttura recente ubicata in posizione strategica per visitare la laguna di Balos, la spiaggia di Falassarna ed Elafonisi. Camera spaziosa, pulita ed accogliente. Bagno dotato di doccia spaziosa. Colazione tradizionale fatta in casa servita ogni mattina fino alle ore 11. A pochi passi è presente una Taverna con cucina tradizionale Ciliegina sulla torta: la cortesia e la gentilezza della proprietaria dell'albergo, Efi.
Couple review - Oct 2012

  

"As clean as possible...It can not get any better than this!"
After reading through the very positive reviews here, we decided to stay at Kaliviani Traditional Hotel for two nights. This was exactly the right thing to do! Our room was very spacious, perfectly clean and Efi, the owner, took care of us as if we were her own children.
Overlooking the Kissamos Bay we enjoyed sitting at our balcony before breakfast or dinner, just soaking in the sun and enjoying the view. We stayed in room Nr. 2 - but apparently all rooms occur to be equally nice.
The breakfast is served by Efi herself on the hotel´s wonderful veranda. Fresh juice, home made pastry and strong coffee are only a few thing to point out here.
Apart from being a really nice place to stay, this hotel provides a perfect base to visiting other places in the area, such as Kissamos or the Balos Lagoon. The only little downfall was the neighbors’' somnambulist rooster which teamed up with some dogs for night's serenades but this is the countryside, isn't it?
Couple review - Sept 2012


"Pace, simpatia e tanta cordialità!”
Camere confortevoli e pulitissime, vista incantevole sul mare, ottima base per escursioni a Balos. Da quest'anno la simpatica proprietaria ha chiuso la cucina, ma nel villaggio ci sono due taverne raggiungibili a piedi in in paio di minuti.
Couple review - Aug 2012



"Our stay at Kaliviani Hotel June 2012”
Of course we can recommend this hotel !! My housband and I stayed there 5 nights last June. It is a lovely place to stay at. We were well taken care of from Efi, his owner, she is a vey kind and helpfull person. The hotel is very well located, the rooms are spacious, very clean and all of them have a great view. Kaliviani is a very little village which has a tavern called Grambousa that's great !, we had to eat there as the tavern of the hotel this year is closed, and was a pleasure, all the meals and the service were great. If we could, be sure we'll come back again !!
Couple review - Aug 2012



"Good little hotel"
The Hotel is really small, only 5 rooms, but clean and nice. Every morning the breakfast is served on the very nice open veranda.You can find coffee, milk, yogurt with nuts and honey, cheese, fruits, fresh orange juice, bred, butter, marmalade. The women who runs this hotel is also very kind. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Kissamos where you can find taverna and bars. Nice location to reach Elafonissi and Balos beaches.
Couple review - Aug 2012




"Una piccola perla”
Il Kaliviani è un piccolo hotel situato in collina con solo 5 camere pulitissime e spaziose con una bella vista sul golfo di Kissamos. Le camere hanno l'aria condizionata, l'asciugacapelli e un utilissimo frigorifero. La colazione è abbondante composta da frutta fresca, jogurt, succo di arancia (vero), torta, miele e caffè, tutto davvero buono. I proprietari sono gentilissimi e ospitali. Il kaliviani è un'ottima base per esplorare la laguna di Balos e la spiaggia di Falassarna. A 100m dall'albergo c'e la taverna Gramvousa, uno dei migliori ristoranti che abbiamo trovato a Creta. Il paese è molto tranquillo e non offre molti svaghi ma se sentite il bisogno di vita notturna potete andare a Kissamos che dista solo 5km.
Family review - Jul 2012
 


"Famous"
We stayed in this wonderful hotel at the beginning of April 2012. Beautiful view from the room and balcony, individual access service, great breakfast, clean rooms, a traditional village environment of Crete. Highly recommended.
Couple review



"Is as nice as on the pictures"
We have spent two full weeks in kaliviani Traditional Hotel and i can confirm: it's really nice as on the pictures of their website. The family running this hotel is adsolutely friendly and handles the traveller's special wishes accordingly. The hotel serves dinner only for its guests and in 50m distance you will find a great typical tavern with live music and one more small tavern. The hotel has a very nice lounge bar (is actually much better than on the pictures) with jazz/rock music being played that i appreciated very much. The Falasarna beach is a clear choice, one of the best beaches in Crete. All 5 rooms has sea view and balcony and very nice ambient.
Couple review



"This hotel is our idea of heaven
Kaliviani Traditional Hotel is, in our minds, just perfect. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and everything was immaculate even though this was the first day they were open for the season. Giannis and his mother take great pride in providing exactly what the visitor wants and have lots of information about the area. Every room has a sea view and is very comfotable. Can't wait to go back in July with our friends.
Couple review



”Great little hotel and staff"
 Have just come back from a two nights stay at Kaliviani. If you want a get away from it all type stay, yet near to some great beaches. Then this is your place. The hotel may not have a 5 star location by a beach or swimming pool, but if you want a slice of real Cretan hospitality then it has it all. The rooms are spotless, the food delicious, the staff delightful, and waking up to the shepherd taking his sheep/goats past our room in the morning, surreal! Only slight downside was the lack of like minded guests to share a late evening drink or 2 in the Garden Bar which with swinging Hammocks, mood lighting and jazz music in the background was a great place to chill out.
Couple review




"A holiday that had it ALL!!!"
Few places combined all the things I enjoyed in Kaliviani. Most notable were the location with great views to the sea and mountains. The taverna in Kaliviani Rooms is one of the few places you can have pure homemade Greek food (the real thing!!!). I would also recommend for nature walks/trekking. If you plan to visit the Balos Beach Lagoon, this is the ideal location to stay.
Short drive to many nice beaches. Careful to choose the right one according to wind direction.
Also, many nice dive shops and dive locations in the area. Thanks Giannis for a great stay! 
Family review


"An Exciting place to be"
Me and my wife traveled to Crete last April. We stayed at kaliviani Hotel for approximately 8 days during which we experienced pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable, airy rooms a remarkable view from the windows. The restaurant served excellent quality food and drinks and we were astonished to try some of the local traditional dishes. We had an extremely good time and our stay was more than satisfying. We have already recommended the place to some friends in US and we are thinking to return in a year or two. Please keep it perfect!
Couple review



"Relaxing experience in western Crete in a beautiful small hotel”
Good food, great bar at night and lovely staff. The location is fabulous near Balos beach, Falasarna and the owners are really nice and take good care of their guests with delighted meals and a great garden bar is probably the only night spot in this part of the Crete island. Great!!!Muchas gracias Giannis!
Friends review



"A Magical Honeymoon"
Kaliviani Hotel is as honeymoon-perfect as it gets. A drop-dead gorgeous sea view, ultra attentive staff, bright and comfortable rooms with beds perfect for staying in, romantic candlelit dinners for two on the restaurant's wonderful veranda and an amazing bar for chilling out. Our honeymoon was magical thanks to you! We will try to return next year.
Couple review



Read more >>

 
 
Mama's Dinner
Finish off your evening early or late at night with a delicious dinner at hotel's restaurant...
read more »
Garten Bar
Relax in the bar of our hotel, among the lush trees at the hammocks and sofas of our garden.
read more »